What It Is: By clicking on the three little dots at the top right corner of a Chrome browser window, users can opt for Incognito mode. This opens a new browser window that is considered private. Chrome doesn’t save a virtual breadcrumb trail of the sites a user visits.
What It Does: As a user browses from site to site, search history and site visits are erased. Any tracking cookies that are picked up along the way are dumped.
Is It Really Private: Google says, “Yes, it is really private.” But what Google may not tell you is that users can leave breadcrumbs in other places. So, although a user’s trail is erased on their own device, this is not the case for other devices and sites. For example, an employer can still track an Incognito user’s online travels. Internet service providers and the visited websites also retain a record of visits.
Is It Still Useful: So, if evidence of a user is still left in key places, is there any real usefulness to using Incognitomode? Here are 3 key benefits of going Incognito: